Yosemite Decimal System and Class 5 Categories


Decimal System pic

Decimal System
Image: rei.com

Jeffery Scott Fraser is a successful business executive who has decades of prior experience as the CEO of NIC Inc. An investor in the job matching firm Job Pose, Jeffery S. Fraser also owns the Tsaina Lodge in Alaska and enjoys spending free time outdoors on activities such as rock climbing.

Rock climbing is a sport in which athletes climb artificial or real rock faces and walls. The sport uses a grading system known as the Yosemite Decimal System (YDS), a numerical system that ranks the difficulty of climbs in one of five classes. Class 1, the easiest climb, is comparable to hiking on an established trail, while Class 5 is the hardest climb and requires safety ropes and expert skills.

The YDS further beaks Class 5 climbs down into subcategories that begin with a 5.1 to 5.4 rating. These less-challenging sections feature easy-to-use footholds and handholds. A 5.5 to 5.6 rating indicates less-obvious hand and foot holds. As the rating increases, footholds disappear until they are completely gone on a 5.10-rated climb. The most difficult climb is a 5.13, which features a smooth, vertical rock surface under overhanging rock.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s